More dreams

I’ve read that some trans people have always dreamt about themselves in their identified gender. Normally the question of  gender identity doesn’t arise in my dreams – I’m just me – but last night, somewhere in the trajectory of a narrative about an entanglement with a morally dubious lounge singer, I looked in a mirror, and saw my dream-brain’s construction of me, post-transition. What I saw was, more or less, this:

David Mitchell as snooker commentator

Now don’t get me wrong, I’m a fan of David Mitchell, but I don’t think I could honestly say that this is his strongest look. So here are a couple of suggestions, brain: if you’re going to imagine me in five or ten years’ time, couldn’t we go for something a bit more like this:

David Hockney, by Cecil Beaton, March 1965 - NPG x14108 - © Cecil Beaton Studio Archive, Sotheby's London

David Hockney, by Cecil Beaton, March 1965 – NPG x14108 – © Cecil Beaton Studio Archive, Sotheby’s London

Or this:

Joaquin Phoenix in Inherent Vice. http://collider.com/inherent-vice-images-joaquin-phoenix/

Joaquin Phoenix in Inherent Vice

Or, you know, maybe even this:

Robert Downey Jr vs lederhosen. http://www.upscalehype.com/2013/04/robert-downey-jr-wears-lederhosen-pants-and-gucci-trek-boots-at-iron-man-3-promo-in-germany/

Robert Downey Jr vs lederhosen

 Meanwhile, when I’m awake, I’m seeing myself in the mirror as a guy much more often, which feels great. Once again, the dream-brain just needs to catch up.

One comment

  1. Jamie Ray · February 27, 2015

    My fear is transitioning into Elmer Fudd.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

